Nearly New Year Resolution

This past year has given me something new. I have managed to do something I didn’t really think possible a little while ago. I have taken my guitar and sat in front of strangers and, maybe worse, sometimes people I knew, and I have played a set or two.

I have played old favourites that I have played in my room many times before, I have played new favourites- songs I hadn’t ever really even thought about playing, songs I didn’t even know. And I have even played my own songs. In fact I have written them especially so I can play them! But I have played them all on a stage, with a mic, and my underplayed clutched like a shield before me.

Moral? You can do it! Not only have I enjoyed getting out, singing and playing guitar in front of people, but there have been times that others have clearly enjoyed it too! Yes, I have seen the odd head dancing to the music. And I have even had people buy me a drink to say well done! Not bad for an ageing, well middle aged, baldy!

This year I have decided I am going to give another secret hobby of mine some limelight. I have decided I will try throwing both word and image out there to see if others like what I have, till now kept in dusty e-vaults opened only to cast in more words or images to the ever growing pile of rotting e-parchment.

Over this year I hope you may enjoy some of the photographs, the spurious writings and the faux greeting card style combos. If you do, please let me know. Throw a comment out there, like a penny in this old man’s hat. Maybe even ‘Like’ me on Facebook.

Oh …and … Happy Christmas!

About Maitiu

I am a collection of aspects. A father, a husband, an uncle, a son, a teacher, an aspiring writer, an amateur photographer, a poor guitar player, a slightly better singer... Online however I am a 365er looking to find out what people make of my personal poetic musings and my photographs. Drop a penny in an old man's hat and let me know what you think... (Leave a comment!)
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

