Sometimes

These are the lyrics to a song I have written, perhaps my favourite song to sing and certainly the only one I am happy with:

Sometimes

Sometimes I get that feeling,

Like I’m on the other side

Of the mirror, looking backwards

At the ageing, wizened image of the

Face of the father

Of the stranger I’ve become.

 

Sometimes you‘ve got to step back

You’ve go to ask yourself why?

And you know you’re going to lie

But what the hell?

Sometimes.

 

Sometimes I get the feeling that I’m coming to the end

Of the ride, the helter skelter

Of life’s running up and down the track,

The going up and coming back

And my race is almost run.

 

Sometimes you‘ve got to step back

You’ve go to ask yourself why?

And you know you’re going to lie

But what the hell?

Sometimes.

 

Sometimes I get the feeling like an angel’s by my side

And we watch the world together,

People running hell for leather,

Never seeing what’s before them,

Always crying out for more.

 

Sometimes you‘ve got to step back

You’ve go to ask yourself why?

And you know you’re going to lie

But what the hell?

Sometimes.

About Maitiu

I am a collection of aspects. A father, a husband, an uncle, a son, a teacher, an aspiring writer, an amateur photographer, a poor guitar player, a slightly better singer... Online however I am a 365er looking to find out what people make of my personal poetic musings and my photographs. Drop a penny in an old man's hat and let me know what you think... (Leave a comment!)
This entry was posted in Lyrics and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

