Who am I to turn to?

Who am I to turn to?

I felt, not saw, you- standing next to me.
You did not lift me as I fell,
Did not offer the comfort of a hand in troubled sea.
You stood there; silent – still.

Should I ask for you to lift this leaden load
You’d stand, implacable. With love
You’d show me tired, scarred hands of old,
As if to say, “Haven’t I done enough?”

But you would not lift me up,
Nodding, knowingly you’d look at me and fill-
With spirit from an overflowing cup-
My heart, till from my lips it would begin to spill.

And, shouting with the courage of ten thousand men,
Like a drunken fool under the night’s cold sun,
I‘d stand with forgotten strength and then,
Leaving my silent, oft forgotten friend, walk on!

About Maitiu

I am a collection of aspects. A father, a husband, an uncle, a son, a teacher, an aspiring writer, an amateur photographer, a poor guitar player, a slightly better singer... Online however I am a 365er looking to find out what people make of my personal poetic musings and my photographs. Drop a penny in an old man's hat and let me know what you think... (Leave a comment!)
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Who am I to turn to?

  1. Babs Bradley says:

    very deep, but oh so true

Leave a Reply

