Variations on Du Fu’s To the Snow

We have been looking a ‘translating’  some of the great Chinese Poets again this term and this is one of my examples from this year. I would emphasise that we were not looking to faithfully translate but to provide variations upon the original poems. This poem by Du Fu (712-770), is more usually translated as ‘Facing the Snow’.

Calligraphy by Qin Jian Ming

Chinese Calligraphy by Qin Jian Ming  (Meaning = Snow)

About Maitiu

I am a collection of aspects. A father, a husband, an uncle, a son, a teacher, an aspiring writer, an amateur photographer, a poor guitar player, a slightly better singer... Online however I am a 365er looking to find out what people make of my personal poetic musings and my photographs. Drop a penny in an old man's hat and let me know what you think... (Leave a comment!)
This entry was posted in Photograph, Poetry, Word and Image and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Variations on Du Fu’s To the Snow

  1. gwenkuo says:

    Very nice post of the sublime beauty of Chinese art! Sharing with you Chinese treasures of National Palace Museum..http://wp.me/p3bwN9-5R

  2. Maitiu says:

    Thank you. I am vey lucky to have the original calligraphy courtesy of one of my students and I certainly enjoyed penning my variation upon the theme. Thank you for the link, I was recently at the Forbidden City and must say I loved it there.

    Thank’s again for the comment.

Leave a Reply

