From Stream to Land

This poem is many years old now, it was something I wrote for my wedding, indeed for my wife…(By the way I still chatter endlessly- though she isn’t always so silent!)

From Stream to Land

 

You found me. I was nothing.

A chattering worm that blundered aimlessly,

Seemingly without direction,

But you took my innocence and crafted me.

You fed me gave me strength and then

When you had appeased my glut

You battered me.

How I raged as you forced me to walk the paths

You had chosen.

I twisted and turned, spat and roared at you,

Drowning all in a deafening cry, which filled the hills.

Yet you stood silent and sure.

You stood silent as I was watched.

People marvelled at my anger, were awed by my power-

You stood silent.

And then it all drained away and you and I once more

Walked

Through sunny glade, hand in hand

Sometimes silently, you would lead me on another path

Sometimes we sat

And watched the leaves

As they were born, grew old and died.

And on we walked

And I grew ever stronger.

I sometimes ask myself

How much it has cost you all these years?

How much you lose for me, and in me?

Yet our trail blazes

But the roars grow ever stronger.

How I roar.

And you stand silent. The tensions beyond power.

How I fight, never minding who might watch.

 

And still I fight. Still you stand, silent, giving me

The power, giving me my voice.

Knowing we will walk

Forever hand in hand.

Until we meet the sea.

 

To my wife,

whom I love as much now as ever.

 

About Maitiu

I am a collection of aspects. A father, a husband, an uncle, a son, a teacher, an aspiring writer, an amateur photographer, a poor guitar player, a slightly better singer... Online however I am a 365er looking to find out what people make of my personal poetic musings and my photographs. Drop a penny in an old man's hat and let me know what you think... (Leave a comment!)
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

