Drink With Me

Elven Storm

Elven Storm

I am spending a lot of time thinking about the upcoming production, ‘Elven Storm’, at work. What with rehearsals on top of the other work at school it is taking up a lot of my time and, especially energy. Anyhow, as I have been singing and playing this tune for the past few weeks practically non-stop I thought I would share these lyrics I wrote for it.

Drink With Me

Deep in my heart I keep a fire,

It’s burning bright for you.

That when your tired and your journey is spent

You’ll have somewhere to turn to.

For your friendship it has given me

More warmth than you can know.

And though I want my friends to stay

Some will but others will go.

So drink with me this toast to you.

My friends! Please raise your glass.

To all I love may your wanderings be true

But know there’s a place for you deep my heart.

But shadows grow long as the years tend do

And the ages pass and turn.

But here in my heart for friends near and far

There’s warmth for the fire still burns.

Good friends I’ve known. Though some I’ve lost

And some now dwell in heaven.

But you are here with me tonight

So till chance we meet again-

Come drink with me this toast to you.

My friends! Please raise your glass.

To all I love may your wanderings be true

But know there’s a place for you deep my heart.

About Maitiu

I am a collection of aspects. A father, a husband, an uncle, a son, a teacher, an aspiring writer, an amateur photographer, a poor guitar player, a slightly better singer... Online however I am a 365er looking to find out what people make of my personal poetic musings and my photographs. Drop a penny in an old man's hat and let me know what you think... (Leave a comment!)
This entry was posted in Lyrics, Photograph, Poetry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

