Crossroads

So a picture last night and a poem tonight… well maybe lyrics. I just need to sing it a few more times to see if it really has worked- The Year 6 enjoyed it today though! Nb: It is worth looking up the history of crossroad burials if you are not aware of it…

Crossroads

 

They buried me at the crossroads.

They said that I was to blame.

With a face fit for hanging

And eyes bloody red

And no words to cover my shame.

 

But I left her singing her swan song,

My tears falling fast in the rain.

I never knew of her death

Till they klept me in irons

And kept on repeating her name.

I bore their fists tight with anger and judgment

As they fitted my up for their frame.

Though it wasn’t my finger

That pulled on the trigger

I killed her, I know, all the same.

 

For I left her alone in that forest,

Facing her final nights pain.

And one day I will answer

To The Lord, God and Saviour

And plead for his mercy again.

 

But to the man who murdered my sweetheart,

To this vow I will now stake my claim:

I will haunt you forever

And never will cease

Till you burn in Hell’s fiery flames.

 

For the night that you murdered my Jenny,

The night that sweet soul was slain,

Was the night that you signed

Your own life away-

With her blood and mine you are stained.

 

As I went before mans executioner,

God’s vengeful angel I became.

And I’ll fly through the night

To feast on your soul,

Slowly twisting your mind insane.

 

They buried me at the crossroads

And I hold myself to blame.

And I faced down my hanging

With passion not dread

For her death is my guilt and my shame.

 

About Maitiu

I am a collection of aspects. A father, a husband, an uncle, a son, a teacher, an aspiring writer, an amateur photographer, a poor guitar player, a slightly better singer... Online however I am a 365er looking to find out what people make of my personal poetic musings and my photographs. Drop a penny in an old man's hat and let me know what you think... (Leave a comment!)
This entry was posted in Lyrics, Poetry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

