To My Tortoise

‘To My Tortoise.’

 

My lids hang heavy o’er my eyes

The coffee’s stale upon my tongue

My world is slow yet moves too fast,

My race, now over, is lost and won.

 

And hare it is I languidly lie,

Drained by evening’s mellowing sun

In false retirement I sit, at last,

I pause a while, till time hath done.

 

So sit with me, together sigh

Trying to remember yesteryear’s fun

Where now death’s spectral shadow is cast

And we, the forgotten, no longer run.

 

About Maitiu

I am a collection of aspects. A father, a husband, an uncle, a son, a teacher, an aspiring writer, an amateur photographer, a poor guitar player, a slightly better singer... Online however I am a 365er looking to find out what people make of my personal poetic musings and my photographs. Drop a penny in an old man's hat and let me know what you think... (Leave a comment!)
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

