To The International Award

I was encouraging the students to write sonnets recently and they chose to set me one to write. A previous class had set a fun one- the Year Seven Sonnet I posted earlier, so these students set me a more serious topic- The International Award (DOE). I thought I might post it here…just for the craic…

The International Award

The International Bronze Award

Our main aim is to help develop self:

Through ‘Skills’, develop art and interest,

Through ‘Physical’, develop health and rest

Through ‘Service’, opportunity to help.

In all, we teach the skills of Leadership:

Initiative and ways to organise

Yourself and others, to be wise

In life- to be the hand and not the lip.

The expedition: greatest fun of all

The bit that everybody tends to like

The camping out; the cooking; and the hike-

Understanding nature’s great and small.

But most of all, we merely lend a hand

In helping you become the best you can.

About M Bradley

Mbradley.edu@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Poetry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment